It was untypical because there was a fish involved! Nina and I took advantage of the unusually warm weather and went back to one of Lars’ favorite spots today. It took us awhile to find it actually. We darted in and out of these small sleepy Danish towns and farms, until I eventually recognized the road where we were supposed to be on.

The sweetness was short lived. The fish grabbed the lure during the first ten minutes of this outing. I thought perhaps we were about to have a sensational day since these fish tend to travel in a school. That was not the case. We spent the next three hours doing the usual casting practice and sightseeing.

This fish followed the lure until it was just several feet away from my rod tip. As I was lifting the lure up, it decided to went for a greedy bite, causing a big swirl on the surface as my rod was pulled down. This also happened last weekend, making me think that I must have been missing quite a few fish by not paying attention when the lure made its way into the shallows.

The fight was brief but rather intense for a little fish. This was my first silver Danish sea trout from the beach, finally after around 30 hours of fishing since early December.

I had intended to release this fish at first, because we usually don’t keep fish over here to save the hassle of cleaning in a small apartment. Unfortunately a closer examination just after the first photo showed that the fish had taken the lure quite deeply, and blood was gushing out in great amount. I quickly took a measurement. It was just over 40cm, which is the legal size limit for sea trout in Denmark, so I decided to dispatch it.

Not only we were able to enjoy a fine meal out of it. I got some good ID photos because this fish exhibited these large dark spots that a silver sea trout typically has across its entire body. I guess now I have to wait 30 more fishing hours for sea trout number two?

